Pro Golfer’s Bizarre Rules Violation
Pro Golfer’s Bizarre Rules Violation, Zach Johnson makes a huge mental mistake on the last hole and it almost costs him dearly.Fort Worth, Texas – It was supposed to be a Sunday stroll down the 18th fairway for Zach Johnson. Up three shots over Jason Dufner with his ball sitting in the greenside bunker, all one of the best short game players on the PGA Tour had to do was avoid leaving it in the sand and he’d be the Crowne Plaza Invitational champion.
Well, he did exactly that, getting out of the sand before holing the putt for par to win by three. Or so he thought. As Johnson was leaving the green, he was informed by PGA Tour rules officials that he’d violated 20-7 of the Rules of Golf.
After blasting his ball to within a couple feet of the hole, Johnson moved his ball mark in an attempt to give Dufner a clear path. But in the process of moving the mark, Johnson forgot to replace it to its original spot.
“I moved my mark, but I did not move it back,” Johnson admitted after his round. “I told Damon on the five- or six-footer that I just wanted to hit a great putt. And I hit a great putt. I guess fortunately it went in … I don’t know. I guess if I would’ve missed it it would’ve been … I don’t know what would’ve happened. I just feel very lucky. That’s all. As I said earlier there are a number of adjectives that I’m calling myself right now, and lucky is the biggest one I can think of.”
Johnson also mentioned that his caddie, Damon Green, was raking the bunker at the time and had no idea what had transpired on the green.
Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on