Heartbreaking Error Takes Title From Golfer
Published: May 16, 2012
Heartbreaking Error Takes Title From Golfer, High schooler Caroline Inglis was on the verge of making history when she got terrible news.Eugene (Ore.) Churchill High girls golfer Caroline Inglis was on the cusp of history. After winning the Oregon Scholastic Athletic Association Class 5A state tournament during each of her first three years, Inglis finished the final round of the 2012 state tournament with a 3-under-par 69, a score that completed a dominant performance that was nine shots better than anyone else in the tournament.
All Inglis had to do to ensure history would be made was sign her scorecard. As it turns out, that’s precisely what got her in trouble.
As reported by the Portland Oregonian, Inglis’ scorecard actually credited her with a 4-under-par 68 in the final round, one shot better than Inglis’ actual score. The error was the result of Inglis’ playing partner hastily crediting the Churchill senior with a par on the 18th hole when she actually hit a bogey, but by the time Inglis noticed her partner’s mistake, she had already signed her scorecard.
That gave OSAA officials no choice but to disqualify their rightful champion, because the state championship tournament was played under official USGA rules which call for any players signing inaccurate scorecards to be thrown out of the event.
Inglis’ disqualification thwarted what would have been rare history in the Pacific Northwest. Had Inglis’ victory been confirmed, she would have become the first golfer of either S-EX- to win four consecutive state titles. Ironically, the winner who took Inglis’ place could achieve just such a feat now; Portland (Ore.) Summit High freshman Madison Odiorne was given state champion honors following Inglis’ DQ.
Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on